Select Page

Arizona Christmas Bird Counts – 2019/2020

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since 1900. Volunteers from across North America and beyond take to the field during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skill level and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner at the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared.

Help is needed on all of these counts, so find one that interests you and contact the compiler to join a team!

Tucson Valley Christmas Bird Count for Kids

Get your kids ages 5 to 18 out birding!

Saturday, December 14 at Reid Park
9 am–12:30 pm

The CBC4KIDS is a FREE annual nationwide winter bird survey designed for family participation. Meet at Ramada #7 on the south side of Reid Park directly next to the playground (click here for map).

Loaner binoculars and field guides will be available for use. Volunteers will be on hand to show kids how to use their binoculars and how to ID a bird, and then we’ll divide into teams for our count. After birding we’ll tally our counts and discuss our bird sightings along with pizza and bird-themed activities! Contact Eric Scheuering (520-209-1808), Education Programs Manager, with questions.

REGISTER HERE (Event is free but please register to help with planning)

TUCSON AND SOUTHEAST ARIZONA COUNTS

SANTA CATALINA MOUNTAINS: DECEMBER 14
The count circle encompasses Tanque Verde Creek, Summerhaven, Sabino and Ventana Canyons, and Redington Pass. Everyone can contribute, whether you want to hike a remote mountain trail or count birds in the comfort of your own back yard! Kendall Kroesen and Holly Kleindienst will be co-compiling this year. Contact Kendall at kkroesen@cox.net, 520-971-2385.

TUCSON VALLEY: DECEMBER 17
The Tucson Valley Christmas Bird Count will celebrate its 48th year in 2019! The count always ends with a fun-filled evening at the “Countdown Potluck” where stories are shared, rarities are reported, and new birding friends are made. If you would like to join in on this collaborative citizen-science adventure please contact compiler, Luke Safford, at saffordluke@gmail.com.

AJO-CABEZA PRIETA, DECEMBER 14, Stephanie Doerries, stephanie_doerries@fws.gov

AVRA VALLEY, DECEMBER 14, Mary Lou Cole marylou40@gmail.com

NOGALES, DECEMBER 14, Alan Schmierer, aaschmierer@yahoo.com

ORGAN PIPE CACTUS NM, DECEMBER 15, Daniel Martin, daniel_j_martin@nps.gov

RAMSEY CANYON, DECEMBER 15, Ken Blankenship, kenblankenshipbirding@gmail.com

LUKEVILLE, DECEMBER 16, Daniel Martin, daniel_j_martin@nps.gov

PATAGONIA, DECEMBER 19, Patsy Vanden Berge, pvndnbr5@gmail.com

ST. DAVID, DECEMBER 20, Heather Swanson, SPRNCAbird@hotmail.com

ATASCOSA HIGHLANDS, DECEMBER 21, John Yerger, john@adventurebirding.com

GREEN VALLEY-MADERA CANYON, DECEMBER 28, Malcolm Chesworth, malcolmsc@yahoo.com

PORTAL, DECEMBER 28, Jackie Lewis, winjac12@vtc.net

BUENOS-AIRES NWR, DECEMBER 28, Bonnie Swarbrick, bonnie.swarbrick@gmail.com

PELONCILLO MOUNTAINS, DECEMBER 29, Nicholas Pederson, ndpederson83@gmail.com

APPLETON-WHITTELL, JANUARY 3, Suzanne Wilcox, Suzanne.Wilcox@audubon.org

DUDLEYVILLE, JANUARY 4, Doug Jenness, d_jenness@hotmail.com

 

ADDITIONAL ARIZONA COUNTS

SALT-VERDE RIVERS, DECEMBER 14, Kurt Radamaker 480-585-1606 kurtrad@mexicobirding.com

MARTINEZ LAKE-YUMA, DECEMBER 14, Lin Piest 928-341-4049 lpiest@azgfd.gov

JEROME, DECEMBER 14, Rob Gibbs, 240-780-1318 robgibbs54@gmail.com

MORMON LAKE, DECEMBER 15, [Open] terence.blows@nau.edu

GRAND CANYON, DECEMBER 15, Brian Gatlin 928-638-7723 brian_gatlin@nps.gov

CHINO VALLEY, DECEMBER 16, Russell Duerksen 928-925-5567 duerksen@msn.com

PHOENIX-TRES RIOS, DECEMBER 17, Marceline VandeWater 602-689-4356 marceline@ermaroni.net

PRESCOTT, DECEMBER 18, Carl Tomoff 928-778-2626 tomoff@northlink.com

SEDONA, DECEMBER 20, Richard Armstrong 928-282-3675 richarmstrong@q.com

HASSAYAMPA RIVER, DECEMBER 21, Chrissy Kondrat-Smith 623-451-1250 hassayampacbc@yahoo.com

SUPERIOR, DECEMBER 26, Joy Bell 480-760-1393 joyabell_az@yahoo.com

GILA RIVER, DECEMBER 27, Troy Corman 602-717-2928 aplomado02@gmail.com

FLAGSTAFF-MOUNT ELDEN, DECEMBER 28, Terence Blows terence.blows@nau.edu

WILLOW BEACH, DECEMBER 28, Joseph Saccomanno 928-767-4772 joseph_saccomanno@fws.gov

BILL WILLIAMS RIVER NWR, DECEMBER 29, Marge Penten 928-201-0619 malgaep@gmail.com

CAREFREE, DECEMBER 30, Cathryn Wise 602-301-7530 cwise@audubon.org

HAVASU NWR, DECEMBER 30, Marge Penten 928-201-0619 malgaep@gmail.com

CAMP VERDE, JANUARY 2, Kay Hawklee 432-703-0007 khawklee@gmail.com

LAKE PLEASANT, JANUARY 2, Mary McSparen 602 790-0110 marymacdanes@q.com

PAYSON, JANUARY 2, David Hallock 928-474-9475 eldoradh@rmi.net

GLEN CANYON, JANUARY 3, John Spence 928-608-6267 john_spence@nps.gov

TIMBER MESA, JANUARY 4, Mary Ellen Bittorf 928-367-2462 mcbitt30@cableone.net

TONTO NM-ROOSEVELT LAKE, TBD, Danielle Herzner 860-940-8187 herznerdani@yahoo.com

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120 Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120
Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120
Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447