Select Page

Arizona Christmas Bird Counts – 2016/2017

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since 1900. Volunteers from across North America and beyond take to the field during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skill level and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner@the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared. Help is needed on most of these counts, so find one that interests you and contact the compiler for more information. The counts are now FREE.

Schedules and Contacts – ALL updated for 2016/2017

Date – Day – Count Name – Compiler(s) – Phone – E-Mail

12/14   We     Salt-Verde Rivers         Kurt Radamaker        480-585-1606       kurtrad@mexicobirding.com

12/14   We     Sedona                           Rich Armstrong         928-282-3675       richarmstrong@q.com

12/14   We     Tucson Valley                Rich Hoyer                520-325-5310       birdernaturalist@me.com

12/15   Th      Patagonia                        Abbie Zeltzer           520-394-0146       tarny@theriver.com

12/17   Sa       Avra Valley                     Claudia Johnson       509-264-9076      claudialj@mac.com

12/17   Sa       Cabeza Prieta NWR       Kim Veverka             520-387-4987       kim_veverka@fws.gov

12/17   Sa       Hassayampa River        Vanessa Montgomery   623-465-0012     hassayampacbc@yahoo.com

12/17   Sa       Martinez Lake-Yuma     Lin Piest                   928-341-4049       lpiest@azgfd.gov

12/17   Sa       Mormon Lake                Terry Blows              928-774-8028       terence.blows@nau.edu

12/17   Sa        Nogales                          Michael Bissontz       520-577-8778       seetrogon@comcast.net

12/17   Sa        Santa Catalina Mountains       Brian Nicholas       520-760-3583      weehawker2@yahoo.com

12/18   Su        Buenos Aires NWR       Bonnie Swarbrick     520-240-3737       bonnie.swarbrick@gmail.com

12/18   Su        Grand Canyon                Brian Gatlin               928-638-7893       brian_gatlin@nps.gov

12/18   Su        Jerome                            Julie Wills                  928-300-9775       jwills282@hotmail.com

12/19   Mo       Chino Valley                    Russell Duerksen      928-925-5567      duerksen@msn.com

12/19   Mo       Lukeville                          Joe Veverka              520-387-6849      joe_veverka@nps.gov

12/19   Mo       Phoenix-Tres Rios         Marceline VandeWater    602-689-4356       marceline@ermaroni.net

12/20   Tu        Organ Pipe Cactus NM        Joe Veverka         520-387-6849      joe_veverka@nps.gov

12/21   We       Prescott                           Carl Tomoff                928-778-2626      tomoff@northlink.com

12/26   Mo       Superior                          Cynthia Donald           480-283-4515      planres@earthlink.net

12/27   Tu         Gila River                         Troy Corman              602-717-2928      aplomado@cox.net

12/28   We        Bill Williams River NWR       Kathleen Blair      928-667-4144      kathleen_blair@fws.gov

12/28   We        Green Valley-Madera Canyon      Sally Johnsen      520-399-4050      empidonax@netzero.net

12/28   We         Willow Beach                Joseph Saccomanno   928-767-4772     joseph_saccomanno@fws.gov

12/29   Th          Havasu NWR                  DeeDee DeLorenzo      928-758-2707    deedeedelorenzo@gmail.com

12/30   Fr           Carefree                        Cathy Wise                   602-301-7530    cwise@audubon.org

12/31   Sa          Flagstaff-Mount Elden       Terry Blows            928-774-8028    terence.blows@nau.edu

12/31   Sa          Portal                              Jackie Lewis                 520-558-2287    winjac12@vtc.net

01/02   Mo         Atascosa Highlands     John Yerger                  520-495-0229    john@adventurebirding.com

01/02   Mo         Camp Verde                  Holly Kleindienst            928-853-6887    hollykleindienst@gmail.com

01/02   Mon       Dudleyville                    Doug Jenness                520-909-1529    d_jenness@hotmail.com

01/02   Mo         Payson                           Dave Hallock                  928-474-9475    eldoradh@rmi.net

01/03   Tu           Appleton-Whittell        Suzanne Wilcox             520-455-5522    swilcox@audubon.org

01/04   We          Glen Canyon                 John Spence                  928-608-6267    john_spence@nps.gov

01/05   Th          Timber Mesa                 Mary Ellen Bittorf           928-367-2462     mcbitt30@cableone.net

Nearby New Mexico Count

01/01   Su          Peloncillo Mountains       Nicholas Pederson       505-417-8665    ndpederson83@gmail.com

color_square_face_right



Tucson Audubon Society

300 E University Blvd. #120
Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624