Select Page

Arizona Christmas Bird Counts – 2018/2019

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since 1900. Volunteers from across North America and beyond take to the field during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skill level and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner@the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared. Help is needed on most of these counts, so find one that interests you and contact the compiler for more information. The counts are now FREE.

Schedules and Contacts – UPDATED for 2018/2019!

Date – Day – Count Name – Compiler(s) – Phone – E-Mail

 

12/14   Fr                    Salt-Verde Rivers                                Kurt Radamaker                      480-585-1606              kurtrad@mexicobirding.com

12/15   Sa                    Avra Valley                                         Claudia Johnson                      509-264-9076              claudialj@mac.com
12/15   Sa                    Cabeza Prieta NWR                           Christopher Riesberg              520-387-6483              christopher_riesberg@fws.gov
12/15   Sa                    Hassayampa River                             Chrissy Kondrat-Smith           623-451-1250              hassayampacbc@yahoo.com
12/15   Sa                    Martinez Lake-Yuma                          Lin Piest                                  928-341-4049              lpiest@azgfd.gov
12/15   Sa                    Mormon Lake                                     [Open]                                                                        terence.blows@nau.edu
12/15   Sa                    Nogales                                              Alan Schmierer                       805-801-3701              aaschmierer@yahoo.com
12/15   Sa                    Santa Catalina Mountains                  Kendall Kroesen                     520-971-2385              kkroesen@cox.net

12/16   Su                    Grand Canyon                                   Brian Gatlin                            928-638-7723              brian_gatlin@nps.gov
12/16   Su                    Jerome                                               Tina Greenawalt                      503-927-1367              tina_greenawalt@nps.gov
12/16   Su                    Ramsey Canyon                                 Ken Blankenship                     770-317-8486        kenblankenshipbirding@gmail.com

12/17   Mo                   Chino Valley                                       Russell Duerksen                    928-925-5567              duerksen@msn.com

12/18   Tu                    Tucson Valley                                     Luke Safford                          520-629-0510              saffordluke@gmail.com

12/19   We                   Phoenix-Tres Rios                              Marceline VandeWater           602-689-4356              marceline@ermaroni.net
12/19   We                   Prescott                                              Carl Tomoff                            928-778-2626              tomoff@northlink.com

12/20   Th                    Patagonia                                           Patsy Vandenberge                 520-604-6601              pvndnbr5@gmail.com

12/21   Fr                     Atascosa Highlands                            John Yerger                             814-308-4078              john@adventurebirding.com
12/21   Fr                     Saint David                                         Heather Swanson                    520-307-4405              SPRNCAbird@hotmail.com
12/21   Fr                     Sedona                                               Richard Armstrong                 928-282-3675              richarmstrong@q.com

12/26   We                   Superior                                              Joy Bell                                   480-760-1393              joyabell_az@yahoo.com

12/27   Th                    Gila River                                            Troy Corman                           602-717-2928              aplomado02@gmail.com
12/27   Th                    Bill Williams River NWR                        [Open]                                    928-667-4144              glenn_klingler@fws.gov

12/28   Fr                     Green Valley-Madera Canyon            Malcolm Chesworth                203-947-2440              malcolmsc@yahoo.com
12/28   Fr                     Havasu NWR                                      DeeDee DeLorenzo                928-758-2707              deedeedelorenzo@gmail.com

12/29   Sa                    Buenos Aires NWR                             Bonnie Swarbrick                   520-240-3737              bonnie.swarbrick@gmail.com
12/29   Sa                    Flagstaff-Mount Elden                        Terence Blows                                                            terence.blows@nau.edu
12/29   Sa                    Portal                                                  Jackie Lewis                            520-558-2287              winjac12@vtc.net
12/29  Sa                    Willow Beach                                       Joseph Saccomanno                928-767-4772              joseph_saccomanno@fws.gov

12/30   Su                    Carefree                                             Cathryn Wise                          602-301-7530              cwise@audubon.org

01/02   We                   Camp Verde                                        Kay Hawklee                          432-703-0007              khawklee@gmail.com
01/02   We                   Payson                                                David Hallock                         928-474-9475              eldoradh@rmi.net

01/03   Th                    Appleton-Whittell                                Suzanne Wilcox                      520-455-5522              swilcox@audubon.org

01/04   Fr                     Glen Canyon                                      John Spence                            928-608-6267              john_spence@nps.gov

01/05   Sa                    Dudleyville                                          Doug Jenness                          520-909-1529              d_jenness@hotmail.com
01/05   Sa                    Timber Mesa                                       Mary Ellen Bittorf                  928-367-2462              mcbitt30@cableone.net

Unknown                    Lukeville                                                [Open]                                     520-387-6849              rijk_morawe@nps.gov
Unknown                    Organ Pipe Cactus NM                          [Open]                                     520-387-6849              rijk_morawe@nps.gov
Unknown                    Tonto NM – Roosevelt Lake                  Danielle Herzner                     928-467-2241              herznerdani@yahoo.com

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120 Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120
Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447