Select Page

Arizona Christmas Bird Counts – 2017/2018

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since 1900. Volunteers from across North America and beyond take to the field during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skill level and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner@the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared. Help is needed on most of these counts, so find one that interests you and contact the compiler for more information. The counts are now FREE.

Schedules and Contacts – UPDATED for 2017/2018!

Date – Day – Count Name – Compiler(s) – Phone – E-Mail

12/14 – Th – Patagonia – Thomas Arny – 520-394-0146 – pvndnbr5@gmail.com

12/14 – Th – Sedona – Richard Armstrong – 928-282-3675 – richarmstrong@q.com

12/14 – Th – Tucson Valley – Luke Safford – 520-629-0510 – saffordluke@gmail.com

 

12/16 – Sa – Avra Valley – Claudia Johnson – 509-264-9076 – claudialj@mac.com

12/16 – Sa – Buenos Aires NWR – Bonnie Swarbrick – 520-240-3737 – bonnie.swarbrick@gmail.com

12/16 – Sa – Cabeza Prieta NWR – Christopher Riesberg – 520-387-6483 – christopher_riesberg@fws.gov

12/16 – Sa – Hassayampa River – Vanessa Montgomery – 623-465-0012 – hassayampacbc@yahoo.com

12/16 – Sa – Martinez Lake-Yuma – Lin Piest – 928-341-4049 – lpiest@azgfd.gov

12/16 – Sa – Mormon Lake – Terence Blows – 928-774-8028 – terence.blows@nau.edu

12/16 – Sa – Nogales – Michael Bissontz – 520-577-8778 – seetrogon@comcast.net

12/16 – Sa – Santa Catalina Mountains – Kendall Kroesen – 520-971-2385 – kkroesen@cox.net

 

12/17 – Su – Grand Canyon – Brian Gatlin – 928-638-7723 – brian_gatlin@nps.gov

12/17 – Su – Jerome – Julie Wills – 928-300-9775 – jwills282@hotmail.com

12/17 – Su – Ramsey Canyon – Ken Blankenship – 770-317-8486 – kenhblankenship@comcast.net

 

12/18 – Mo – Chino Valley – Russell Duerksen – 928-925-5567 – duerksen@msn.com

 

12/19 – Tu – Atascosa Highlands – Jake Mohlmann – 610-390-2424 – mohlmann2@yahoo.com

 

12/20 – We – Phoenix-Tres Rios – Marceline VandeWater – 602-689-4356 – marceline@ermaroni.net

12/20 – We – Prescott – Carl Tomoff – 928-778-2626 – tomoff@northlink.com

 

12/23 – Sa – Superior – Cynthia Donald – 480-283-4515 – planres@earthlink.net

 

12/27 – We – Gila River – Troy Corman – 602-717-2928 – aplomado@cox.net

 

12/28 – Th – Bill Williams River NWR – Kathleen Blair – 928-667-4144 – kathleen_blair@fws.gov

12/28 – Th – Green Valley-Madera Canyon – Malcolm Chesworth – 203-947-2440 – malcolmsc@yahoo.com

 

12/29 – Fr – Carefree – Cathryn Wise – 602-301-7530 – cwise@audubon.org

12/29 – Fr – Havasu NWR – DeeDee DeLorenzo – 928-758-2707 – deedeedelorenzo@gmail.com

 

12/30 – Sa – Flagstaff-Mount Elden – Terence Blows – 928-774-8028 – terence.blows@nau.edu

12/30 – Sa – Portal – [Open] – 520-558-2287 – winjac12@vtc.net

 

01/01 – Mo – Camp Verde – Holly Kleindienst – 928-853-6887 – hollykleindienst@gmail.com

 

01/02 – Tu – Dudleyville – Doug Jenness – 520-909-1529 – d_jenness@hotmail.com

01/02 – Tu – Payson – David Hallock – 928-474-9475 – eldoradh@rmi.net

 

01/03 – We – Appleton-Whittell – Suzanne Wilcox – 520-455-5522 – swilcox@audubon.org

01/03 – We – Glen Canyon – John Spence – 928-608-6267 – john_spence@nps.gov

 

01/05 – Fr – Timber Mesa – Mary Ellen Bittorf – 928-367-2462 – mcbitt30@cableone.net

 

Unknown – Lukeville – Emily Conant – 520-387-6849 – emily_conant@nps.gov

Unknown – Organ Pipe Cactus NM – Emily Conant – 520-387-6849 – emily_conant@nps.gov

Unknown – Saint David – Heather Swanson – 520-439-6429 – SPRNCAbird@hotmail.com

Unknown – Salt-Verde Rivers – Kurt Radamaker – 480-585-1606 – kurtrad@mexicobirding.com

Unknown – Willow Beach – Joseph Saccomanno – 928-767-4772 – joseph_saccomanno@fws.gov

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120 Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447