Select Page

Arizona Christmas Bird Counts – 2018/2019

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since 1900. Volunteers from across North America and beyond take to the field during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skill level and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner@the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared. Help is needed on most of these counts, so find one that interests you and contact the compiler for more information. The counts are now FREE.

Tucson Valley Christmas Bird Count for Kids

Get your kids ages 5 to 18 out birding!

DATE TBD

The CBC4KIDS is a FREE annual nationwide winter bird survey designed for family participation. Meet up at the large Reid Park pond (across from the zoo).

Participants will receive a birding guide book, loaner binoculars if they need them, and break into teams. Volunteers will be on hand to show kids how to use their binoculars, discuss birding ethics, and how to ID a bird. After birding we’ll pack up and head to the Eckstrom-Columbus Library to count and discuss our bird sightings and have a pizza party!

We also need volunteers for this event! If you’re interested in helping out please contact Luke Safford, 520 209-1811.

Schedules and Contacts – UPDATED for 2018/2019!

Date – Day – Count Name – Compiler(s) – Phone – E-Mail

12/15 – Sa – Cabeza Prieta NWR – Christopher Riesberg – 520-387-6483 – christopher_riesberg@fws.gov

12/15 – Sa – Hassayampa River – Chrissy Kondrat-Smith – 623-465-0012 – hassayampacbc@yahoo.com

12/15 – Sa – Nogales – Bill Lisowsky & Alan Schmeirer – ykswosil@gmail.com

12/15 – Sa – Santa Catalina Mountains – Kendall Kroesen – 520-971-2385 – kkroesen@cox.net

12/16 – Su – Grand Canyon – Brian Gatlin – 928-638-7723 – brian_gatlin@nps.gov

12/16 – Su – Ramsey Canyon – Ken Blankenship – 770-317-8486 – kenblankenshipbirding@gmail.com

12/17 – Mo – Chino Valley – Russell Duerksen – 928-925-5567 – duerksen@msn.com

12/18 – Tu – Tucson Valley – Luke Safford & Eric Scheuering – saffordluke@gmail.com or ericpdx@gmail.com

12/19 – We – Phoenix-Tres Rios – Marceline VandeWater – 602-689-4356 – marceline@ermaroni.net

12/20 – Th – Patagonia – Patsy Vanden Berge & John Hughes – pvndnbr5@gmail.com

12/28 – Fr – Green Valley-Madera Canyon – Malcolm Chesworth – 203-947-2440 – malcolmsc@yahoo.com

12/28 – Fr – Carefree – Cathryn Wise – 602-301-7530 – cwise@audubon.org

12/28 – Fr – Havasu NWR – DeeDee DeLorenzo – 928-758-2707 – deedeedelorenzo@gmail.com

12/29 – Sa – Flagstaff-Mount Elden – Terence Blows – 928-774-8028 – terence.blows@nau.edu

01/02 – We – Payson – David Hallock – 928-474-9475 – eldoradh@rmi.net

01/03 – Th – Appleton-Whittell – Suzanne Wilcox – 520-455-5522 – swilcox@audubon.org

01/04 – Fr – Glen Canyon – John Spence – 928-608-6267 – john_spence@nps.gov

01/05 – Sa – Dudleyville – Doug Jenness – 520-909-1529 – d_jenness@hotmail.com

 

Unknown – Prescott – Carl Tomoff – 928-778-2626 – tomoff@northlink.com

Unknown – Superior – Cynthia Donald – 480-283-4515 – planres@earthlink.net

Unknown – Gila River – Troy Corman – 602-717-2928 – aplomado@cox.net

Unknown – Bill Williams River NWR – Kathleen Blair – 928-667-4144 – kathleen_blair@fws.gov

Unknown – Atascosa Highlands – Jake Mohlmann – 610-390-2424 – mohlmann2@yahoo.com

Unknown – Jerome – Julie Wills – 928-300-9775 – jwills282@hotmail.com

Unknown – Martinez Lake-Yuma – Lin Piest – 928-341-4049 – lpiest@azgfd.gov

Unknown – Mormon Lake – [open–no compiler]

Unknown – Portal – [Open] – 520-558-2287 – winjac12@vtc.net

Unknown – Camp Verde – Kay Hawklee – 432-703-0007 – khawklee@gmail.com

Unknown – Avra Valley – Claudia Johnson – 509-264-9076 – claudialj@mac.com

Unknown – Buenos Aires NWR – Bonnie Swarbrick – 520-240-3737 – bonnie.swarbrick@gmail.com

Unknown – Timber Mesa – Mary Ellen Bittorf – 928-367-2462 – mcbitt30@cableone.net

Unknown – Sedona – Richard Armstrong – 928-282-3675 – richarmstrong@q.com

Unknown – Lukeville – Emily Conant – 520-387-6849 – emily_conant@nps.gov

Unknown – Organ Pipe Cactus NM – Emily Conant – 520-387-6849 – emily_conant@nps.gov

Unknown – Saint David – Heather Swanson – 520-439-6429 – SPRNCAbird@hotmail.com

Unknown – Salt-Verde Rivers – Kurt Radamaker – 480-585-1606 – kurtrad@mexicobirding.com

Unknown – Willow Beach – Joseph Saccomanno – 928-767-4772 – joseph_saccomanno@fws.gov

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120 Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120
Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447