Select Page

Arizona Christmas Bird Counts – 2021/2022

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since 1900. Volunteers from across North America and beyond take to the field during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skill level and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner at the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared (virtual this year).

Help is needed on all of these counts, so find one that interests you and contact the compiler to join a team!

TUCSON AND SOUTHEAST ARIZONA COUNTS

TUCSON VALLEY: DECEMBER 14
The Tucson Valley Christmas Bird Count will celebrate its 50th year in 2021! The count always ends with a fun-filled evening at the “Countdown Potluck” where stories are shared, rarities are reported, and new birding friends are made (virtual this year). If you would like to join in on this collaborative community-science adventure please contact compiler, Keith Kamper, at keithkamper@gmail.com.

SANTA CATALINA MOUNTAINS: DECEMBER 27
The count circle encompasses Tanque Verde Creek, Summerhaven, Sabino and Ventana Canyons, and Redington Pass. Everyone can contribute, whether you want to hike a remote mountain trail or count birds in the comfort of your own back yard! Kendall Kroesen and Holly Kleindienst will be co-compiling this year. Contact Kendall at kkroesen@cox.net, 520-971-2385 or Holly at hollykleindienst@gmail.com

AVRA VALLEY, DECEMBER 15, Mary Lou Cole marylou40@gmail.com

PATAGONIA, DECEMBER 16, Kathy West, 206-280-1242  patagoniacbc@gmail.com

SAFFORD, DECEMBER 17, Diane Drobka sunny1az@yahoo.com

NOGALES, DECEMBER 18, Bill Lisowsky, ykswosil@gmail.com

ST. DAVID, DECEMBER 19, Heather Swanson, SPRNCAbird@hotmail.com

ATASCOSA HIGHLANDS, DECEMBER 19, Jake Mohlmann mohlmann2@yahoo.com

RAMSEY CANYON, DECEMBER 20, Ken Blankenship, kenblankenshipbirding@gmail.com

BUENOS-AIRES NWR, DECEMBER 21, Bonnie Swarbrick, bonnie.swarbrick@gmail.com

GREEN VALLEY-MADERA CANYON, DECEMBER 28, Malcolm Chesworth, malcolmsc@yahoo.com

PORTAL, JANUARY 1, Bonnie Bowen, bonnie.bowen@gmail.com

DUDLEYVILLE, JANUARY 2, Doug Jenness, dougjenness@gmail.com

APPLETON-WHITTELL, JANUARY 3, Suzanne Wilcox, Suzanne.Wilcox@audubon.org

AJO-CABEZA PRIETA, JANUARY 4, Stephanie Doerries, stephanie_doerries@fws.gov

LUKEVILLE, TBD, Daniel Martin, daniel_j_martin@nps.gov

ORGAN PIPE CACTUS NM, TBD, Daniel Martin, daniel_j_martin@nps.gov

 

ADDITIONAL ARIZONA COUNTS

SALT-VERDE RIVERS, DECEMBER 14, Kurt Radamaker 480-585-1606 kurtrad@mexicobirding.com

PRESCOTT, DECEMBER 15, Carl Tomoff 928-778-2626 tomoff@northlink.com

HAVASU NWR, DECEMBER 16, Marge Penten 928-201-0619 malgaep@gmail.com

GILA RIVER, DECEMBER 16, Ryan O’Donnell 435-232-8146 tsirtalis@hotmail.com

BILL WILLIAMS RIVER NWR, DECEMBER 17, Joey Saccomanno joseph_saccomanno@fws.gov

SEDONA, DECEMBER 17, Richard Armstrong 928-282-3675 richarmstrong@q.com

HASSAYAMPA RIVER, DECEMBER 18, Chrissy Kondrat-Smith 623-451-1250 azdesertbird@gmail.com

JEROME, DECEMBER 19, Rob Gibbs, 240-780-1318 robgibbs54@gmail.com

GRAND CANYON, DECEMBER 19, Brian Gatlin 928-638-7723 brian_gatlin@nps.gov

CHINO VALLEY, DECEMBER 20, Russell Duerksen 928-925-5567 duerksen@msn.com

PHOENIX-TRES RIOS, DECEMBER 21, Marceline VandeWater 602-689-4356 marceline@ermaroni.net

SUPERIOR, DECEMBER 26, Joy Bell 480-760-1393 joyabell_az@yahoo.com

PHOENIX METRO, DECEMBER 27, Kathy Balman ecoexplorersatl@gmail.com

CAREFREE, DECEMBER 30, Cathryn Wise 602-301-7530 cwise@audubon.org

FLAGSTAFF-MOUNT ELDEN, JANUARY 1, Terence Blows terence.blows@nau.edu

TIMBER MESA, JANUARY 1, Mary Williams 480-235-1792 mary.williams@arizonachristian.edu

CAMP VERDE, JANUARY 2, Kay Hawklee 432-703-0007 khawklee@gmail.com

PAYSON, JANUARY 5, David Hallock 928-474-9475 eldoradh@rmi.net

LAKE PLEASANT, JANUARY 5, Eric Hough 480-751-8144 eric.hough@maricopa.gov

 

MORMON LAKE, TBD, terence.blows@nau.edu

TONTO NM-ROOSEVELT LAKE, TBD, Danielle Herzner 860-940-8187 herznerdani@yahoo.com

GLEN CANYON, TBD, John Spence

MARTINEZ LAKE-YUMA, TBD, Lin Piest 928-341-4049 lpiest@azgfd.gov

WILLOW BEACH, TBD, Clayton Merrill clayton_merrill@nps.gov 

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120 Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120
Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447

color_square_face_right

Tucson Audubon Society
300 E University Blvd. #120
Tucson, AZ 85705

Mason Center
3835 W Hardy Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85742

Paton Center for Hummingbirds
477 Pennsylvania Ave.
Patagonia, AZ 85624
520 415-6447