Skip to content

Arizona Christmas Bird Counts – 2022/2023

NOW UPDATED FOR 2022/23

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since 1900. Volunteers from across North America and beyond take to the field during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skill level and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner at the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared.

Help is needed on all of these counts, so find one that interests you and contact the compiler to join a team!

TIPS & TRICKS WEBINAR

Making Your Christmas Bird Count the Best with AZFO

December 2, 11 am-12 pm
This hour-long webinar will provide participants with numerous techniques, tips and suggestions to help make your next CBC (and general birding) experience the best it can be. Enhance your team’s outcome with an increase in both species and numbers – making the count more accurate, more useful, and hopefully more fun! This is a joint presentation of Arizona Field Ornithologists and Tucson Audubon Society.

Register for this free virtual event

 

TUCSON AND SOUTHERN ARIZONA COUNTS

TUCSON VALLEY: DECEMBER 14
The Tucson Valley Christmas Bird Count will celebrate its 51st year in 2022! The count always ends with a fun-filled evening at the “Countdown Potluck” where stories are shared, rarities are reported, and new birding friends are made (virtual this year). If you would like to join in on this collaborative community-science adventure please contact compiler, Keith Kamper, at keithkamper@gmail.com.

SANTA CATALINA MOUNTAINS: DECEMBER 17
The count circle encompasses Tanque Verde Creek, Summerhaven, Sabino and Ventana Canyons, and Redington Pass. Everyone can contribute, whether you want to hike a remote mountain trail or count birds in the comfort of your own back yard! Kendall Kroesen is compiling this year. Contact Kendall at kkroesen@cox.net, 520-971-2385.

BUENOS-AIRES NWR, DECEMBER 15, Bonnie Swarbrick, 520 240-3737, bonnie.swarbrick@gmail.com

PATAGONIA, DECEMBER 15, Donna Edmonds, 719 369-9704, dymonds215@gmail.com

AJO-CABEZA PRIETA, JANUARY 16, Stephanie Doerries, 520 387-4989, stephanie_doerries@fws.gov

SAFFORD, DECEMBER 16, Diane Drobka, 928 298-0004, sunny1az@yahoo.com

AVRA VALLEY, DECEMBER 17, George Montgomery, 520 609-0245, gmontgomery@desertmuseum.org

NOGALES, DECEMBER 17, Bill Lisowsky, 520 987-0187, ykswosil@gmail.com

ORGAN PIPE CACTUS NM, DECEMBER 17, Daniel Martin, 928 210-2420, daniel_j_martin@nps.gov

LUKEVILLE, DECEMBER 18, Daniel Martin, 928 210-2420, daniel_j_martin@nps.gov

ST. DAVID, DECEMBER 18, Heather Swanson, 520 307-4405, SPRNCAbird@hotmail.com

RAMSEY CANYON, DECEMBER 19, Steven Tracey, 408 966-3860, stracey53@yahoo.com

GREEN VALLEY-MADERA CANYON, DECEMBER 28, Malcolm Chesworth, 203 947-2440, malcolmsc@yahoo.com

PORTAL, DECEMBER 31, Bonnie Bowen, 520 558-0038, bonnie.bowen@gmail.com

ATASCOSA HIGHLANDS, JANUARY 1, Jake Mohlmann, 610 390-2424, mohlmann2@yahoo.com

DUDLEYVILLE, JANUARY 2, Doug Jenness, 520 909-1529, dougjenness@gmail.com

APPLETON-WHITTELL, JANUARY 5, Suzanne Wilcox, 520 455-5522, Suzanne.Wilcox@audubon.org

 

ADDITIONAL ARIZONA COUNTS

SALT-VERDE RIVERS, DECEMBER 14, Kurt Radamaker 480-585-1606 kurtrad@mexicobirding.com

GILA RIVER, DECEMBER 15, Ryan O’Donnell 435-232-8146 tsirtalis@hotmail.com

SEDONA, DECEMBER 15, Richard Armstrong 928-282-3675 richarmstrong@q.com

BILL WILLIAMS RIVER NWR, DECEMBER 15, Jessica Samuelson, 928 271-0253, jessica_samuelson@fws.gov

HAVASU NWR, DECEMBER 16, Marge Penton 928-201-0619 malgaep@gmail.com

WILLOW BEACH, DECEMBER 16, Clayton Merrill, 702 371-7548, clayton_merrill@nps.gov 

PHOENIX METRO, DECEMBER 17, Molina Walters, 480 748-6562, Drmo@asu.edu

HASSAYAMPA RIVER, DECEMBER 17, Chrissy Kondrat, 623-451-1250 ckondrat@azgfd.gov

JEROME, DECEMBER 18, Rob Gibbs, 240-780-1318 robgibbs54@gmail.com

GRAND CANYON, DECEMBER 19, Brian Gatlin 928-638-7723 brian_gatlin@nps.gov

CHINO VALLEY, DECEMBER 19, Russell Duerksen 928-925-5567 duerksen@msn.com

PHOENIX-TRES RIOS, DECEMBER 20, Marceline VandeWater 602-689-4356 marceline@ermaroni.net

PRESCOTT, DECEMBER 21, Carl Tomoff, 928-778-2626 tomoff@northlink.com

SUPERIOR, DECEMBER 26, Joy Bell, 480-760-1393 joyabell_az@yahoo.com

MARTINEZ LAKE-YUMA, DECEMBER 28, Nancy Meister, 928 872-3552, yaspresident@yahoo.com

CAREFREE, DECEMBER 30, Jen Bruening, 480 239-2917, jen@mcdowellsonoran.org

FLAGSTAFF-MOUNT ELDEN, DECEMBER 31, TBD

TIMBER MESA, DECEMBER 31, Mary Williams 480-235-1792 mary.williams@arizonachristian.edu

CAMP VERDE, JANUARY 2, Kay Hawklee 432-703-0007 khawklee@gmail.com

LAKE PLEASANT, JANUARY 4, Eric Hough 928 684-2772, eric.hough@maricopa.gov

PAYSON, JANUARY 5, David Hallock 928-474-9475 eldoradh@rmi.net

MORMON LAKE, TBD, terence.blows@nau.edu

TONTO NM-ROOSEVELT LAKE, TBD, Danielle Herzner 860-940-8187 herznerdani@yahoo.com

GLEN CANYON, TBD, John Spence